Online Backup Companies MyPC Backup Review

MyPC Backup Review http://onlinebackupsearch.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/ca/77/2a/mypcbackup-300x225-94-1360923769.png

Expert Rating:9.2

User Rating:8.9

$5.95/Month

GO

What We Like:

  • Unlimited Storage
  • File Sharing and Syncing
  • Extremely Easy to Use
  • Located in the UK and in the US
  • Encrypted and Secure
Review by David Blane
Created: August 02, 2011 / Updated: May 17, 2013
 
Write Review

Editor review

Software Installation
The install process was one of the quickest we’ve seen. It took about three minutes. After about five clicks, the software was installed, configured, and backing up files. Thumbs-up to the developers for keeping the install short and clean.

When you first log in to the MyPC Backup website account area a series of steps guides you to the file download. There is even a small video that talks you through downloading the file. It was a little weird to a hear a voice start talking, but it was reassuring to have the install steps clearly described by a human voice.

After the install file was downloaded we double clicked it to begin. We were prompted to decide between backing up the “My Documents” folder or manually selecting files and folders. We opted to backup the “My Documents” folder. As soon as we clicked finished, it installed program’s files and began the initial backup.

File Backup
We were able to backup 1GB in about 5 hours on a cable internet connection without experiencing any problems.

A helpful feature is the progress bar which shows the amount uploaded and size of the pending files. This is a good feature, but it would be improved by adding a “Time Remaining” indicator. This would inform the user how long the backup is expected to take.

Viewing Backed Up Files
Once our backup was complete, it was time confirm our files were backed up correctly. In the MyPC Backup software interface, we clicked the “View My Files” button. Which took us to our files at MyPCBackup.com website in our browser. From here we were able to confirm that our data was backed up and in the same file structure.

We browsed through the files similar to way we do in Windows Explorer. Downloading individual files can be done through the browser. We felt the layout was clean and easy to navigate.

To access on your phone, use the phone’s browser and go to “mypcbackup.com” and login to your account. It’s not the most useful mobile app because it behaves the same as the website does on the computer. Most phone’s can not restore data directly, but you can save photos and play music and videos.

Restoring files
Restoring files was simple. There are two ways to restore files.
1. through the software
2. through the website

Restoring files through the software: While MyPC Backup is open, click the “Restore Files” button to open the restore files window. Use this window to navigate to the files or folders you need and click “Restore”. Figuring this out was not an issue.

Restoring files through the website using a web browser: In order to download files from online, you have to individually select each file to download. There does not appear to be a way to download whole folders at once. This makes restoring from the web cumbersome for bulk file restores. Other than that, this method is just as easy as using the software.

Different Versions or revisions of your files: Getting to older file versions is done by selecting the file and clicking “Versions” in either the software or the website. Versions are historical changes in files. Every time a change is made, a version is backed up. This feature allowed us to find a version of a file from three days previous to the newest file version. It retained the information from the earlier version of the file. This is helpful in restoring files that may have been overwritten or changed.

Advanced Backup Settings
MyPC Backup has streamlined the process by making most of the choices. There are a few advances options that can be set by the user. These include the backup schedule, file selection, max file size, file types and security settings.

Backup Schedule: This option is limited to hourly or daily. Many other backup companies allow you to set the time and day of the backup, but MyPCBackup can only be set to hourly or daily. In the future we would love to see a setting that allows us to set the backup start time. Additionally, it should be noted that there is an upgrade charge for hourly backups. Most home users will not need hourly backup, but you will have to pay for it if you do.

File Selection: There is a manual file selection option that allows for more control of the backup. Under “Settings” choose “Backup Selection” and you will be able to switch from automatic selection to user selection. This is helpful when you are backing up a specific set of files. The file selection is easy to use and operates very well.

Max File Size: Within the backup settings there is a max file upload file size. This restricts the upload of files over a given size. The software is set default to 2MB’s which will exclude most large photos and videos. If you decide to go with MyPC Backup, be sure to increase this limit or many of your large photos / videos / MP3s will not be backed up.

File Types: With this advanced option you can set to exclude any file types. By default most media file types have been blocked.  Again if you plan to use MyPC Backup be sure to check this advanced setting to ensure you are getting the backup you need.

Security Settings: This setting is pretty straight forward you can use either HTTP or HTTPS to transfer you data. The default setting is HTTPS and we recommend it remain on this setting.

Additional thoughts:
While using MyPC Backup, we noticed there were a lot of cool features and addons but they all came with additional costs.

For instance, when we tried to backup a second computer, it asked us to upgrade the account. We do think it’s nice that the upgrades are available, but some of the upgrades should be included free. One example is the upgrade from backing up daily to hourly. Hourly backups and more advanced scheduling options would be an improvement to the software and should not cost the customer more.

We recommend looking at all plan prices along with any needed upgrades, in order to get a more accurate comparison between backup companies.


Conclusion:

MyPC Backup is a great option for home PC backup or offices with just a few computers.  If you have a large corporate environment or have the need to stagger backup start times MyPC backup will not be the solution for you but chances are you are looking at more robust solutions.

The software is easy to install, with minimal decisions and just works. Which is the key factor for home users. There are some cool advanced upgrades but they are an additional cost.  Yeah, the additional charges are frustrating, but at least you are now aware. Like with any company, be sure to check out all addons costs when making company comparisons.

If you are looking for an online backup solution that is user friendly and backups up your files reliably consider My PC Backup.
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Security 
 
9.0

Easy to use, clean and simple.

Reviewed by: David Blane
Experience Level: Backup Professional
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: March 13, 2012

Overview

We really like MyPC backup, the software is easy to install, simple to use and will be able to get most people backing up in no time.  The basic price is competitive but you will have to spend extra for addons that are free with other backup companies.

MyPCBackup is only available for PC (sorry apple users) and you can not schedule the time of day for your backup job to start.

Drawbacks aside if you have a relatively simple setup and need to backup a just a few PC’s MyPC backup is worth checking out.

Pros and Cons

Pros
Extremely user friendly
Fast backup and restores
Good customer support
Cons
Limited scheduling options
Can’t throttle bandwidth
Not available for Mac

Full Review

Software Installation
The install process was one of the quickest we’ve seen. It took about three minutes. After about five clicks, the software was installed, configured, and backing up files. Thumbs-up to the developers for keeping the install short and clean.

When you first log in to the MyPC Backup website account area a series of steps guides you to the file download. There is even a small video that talks you through downloading the file. It was a little weird to a hear a voice start talking, but it was reassuring to have the install steps clearly described by a human voice.

After the install file was downloaded we double clicked it to begin. We were prompted to decide between backing up the “My Documents” folder or manually selecting files and folders. We opted to backup the “My Documents” folder. As soon as we clicked finished, it installed program’s files and began the initial backup.

File Backup
We were able to backup 1GB in about 5 hours on a cable internet connection without experiencing any problems.

A helpful feature is the progress bar which shows the amount uploaded and size of the pending files. This is a good feature, but it would be improved by adding a “Time Remaining” indicator. This would inform the user how long the backup is expected to take.

Viewing Backed Up Files
Once our backup was complete, it was time confirm our files were backed up correctly. In the MyPC Backup software interface, we clicked the “View My Files” button. Which took us to our files at MyPCBackup.com website in our browser. From here we were able to confirm that our data was backed up and in the same file structure.

We browsed through the files similar to way we do in Windows Explorer. Downloading individual files can be done through the browser. We felt the layout was clean and easy to navigate.

To access on your phone, use the phone’s browser and go to “mypcbackup.com” and login to your account. It’s not the most useful mobile app because it behaves the same as the website does on the computer. Most phone’s can not restore data directly, but you can save photos and play music and videos.

Restoring files
Restoring files was simple. There are two ways to restore files.
1. through the software
2. through the website

Restoring files through the software: While MyPC Backup is open, click the “Restore Files” button to open the restore files window. Use this window to navigate to the files or folders you need and click “Restore”. Figuring this out was not an issue.

Restoring files through the website using a web browser: In order to download files from online, you have to individually select each file to download. There does not appear to be a way to download whole folders at once. This makes restoring from the web cumbersome for bulk file restores. Other than that, this method is just as easy as using the software.

Different Versions or revisions of your files: Getting to older file versions is done by selecting the file and clicking “Versions” in either the software or the website. Versions are historical changes in files. Every time a change is made, a version is backed up. This feature allowed us to find a version of a file from three days previous to the newest file version. It retained the information from the earlier version of the file. This is helpful in restoring files that may have been overwritten or changed.

Advanced Backup Settings
MyPC Backup has streamlined the process by making most of the choices. There are a few advances options that can be set by the user. These include the backup schedule, file selection, max file size, file types and security settings.

Backup Schedule: This option is limited to hourly or daily. Many other backup companies allow you to set the time and day of the backup, but MyPCBackup can only be set to hourly or daily. In the future we would love to see a setting that allows us to set the backup start time. Additionally, it should be noted that there is an upgrade charge for hourly backups. Most home users will not need hourly backup, but you will have to pay for it if you do.

File Selection: There is a manual file selection option that allows for more control of the backup. Under “Settings” choose “Backup Selection” and you will be able to switch from automatic selection to user selection. This is helpful when you are backing up a specific set of files. The file selection is easy to use and operates very well.

Max File Size: Within the backup settings there is a max file upload file size. This restricts the upload of files over a given size. The software is set default to 2MB’s which will exclude most large photos and videos. If you decide to go with MyPC Backup, be sure to increase this limit or many of your large photos / videos / MP3s will not be backed up.

File Types: With this advanced option you can set to exclude any file types. By default most media file types have been blocked.  Again if you plan to use MyPC Backup be sure to check this advanced setting to ensure you are getting the backup you need.

Security Settings: This setting is pretty straight forward you can use either HTTP or HTTPS to transfer you data. The default setting is HTTPS and we recommend it remain on this setting.

Additional thoughts:
While using MyPC Backup, we noticed there were a lot of cool features and addons but they all came with additional costs.

For instance, when we tried to backup a second computer, it asked us to upgrade the account. We do think it’s nice that the upgrades are available, but some of the upgrades should be included free. One example is the upgrade from backing up daily to hourly. Hourly backups and more advanced scheduling options would be an improvement to the software and should not cost the customer more.

We recommend looking at all plan prices along with any needed upgrades, in order to get a more accurate comparison between backup companies.


Conclusion:

MyPC Backup is a great option for home PC backup or offices with just a few computers.  If you have a large corporate environment or have the need to stagger backup start times MyPC backup will not be the solution for you but chances are you are looking at more robust solutions.

The software is easy to install, with minimal decisions and just works. Which is the key factor for home users. There are some cool advanced upgrades but they are an additional cost.  Yeah, the additional charges are frustrating, but at least you are now aware. Like with any company, be sure to check out all addons costs when making company comparisons.

If you are looking for an online backup solution that is user friendly and backups up your files reliably consider My PC Backup.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Learn More at MyPC Backup

User reviews

Average user rating from: 6 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
8.9
Ease of Use 
 
9.3  (6)
Features 
 
8.8  (6)
Space / Price 
 
9.0  (6)
Customer Support 
 
8.1  (6)
Security 
 
9.3  (6)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Ease of Use
    How easy was the software to configure and run your first backup?
  • Features
    How many helpful tools are available?
  • Space / Price
    How much space do you get for your money?
  • Customer Support
    How helpful and accessible is customer support?
  • Security
    How secure do you feel your data is?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
Also, most of the review sites have links and are funded through the backup companies so please review carefully.
Overall rating 
 
6.1
Ease of Use 
 
8.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
5.0
Customer Support 
 
0.5
Security 
 
8.0

upgrade again?

Overall Rating: 6.1 out of 10
Reviewed by: Barrett
Experience Level: Backup Beginner
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: May 22, 2013

Pros and Cons

Pros
Simple and convenient. Despite the bait and switch the pricing isn't bad for what you get.
Cons
Customer service is absolutely the worst I have hever encountered. I'm not prone to complaining but if I posted the emails from the MyPCbackup support team you would die. Every problem is responded to with "You need to update so I can help you!"

Full Review

Also, most of the review sites have links and are funded through the backup companies so please review carefully.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Please click this link above to get started today! It is a great way of keeping your computer safe.


Thanks to all of you who do click the link above!
I promise it's worth it!
To prove it try it today and find out then upgrade, you won't be sorry!!
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
10.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
10.0

MyPCBackup, you can get it through me :)

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Ashley
Reviewed on: November 20, 2012

Full Review


Please click this link above to get started today! It is a great way of keeping your computer safe.


Thanks to all of you who do click the link above!
I promise it's worth it!
To prove it try it today and find out then upgrade, you won't be sorry!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I really like mypcbackup. I found them on this site a few months back and so far are very happy with my selection. They have many features which the others do not have, as the competition just focus on drag and drop folders which isnt true backup.
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
10.0

Very Good online Backup

Overall Rating: 9.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: Chris Gonzalez
Experience Level: Backup Expert
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: June 07, 2012

Pros and Cons

Pros
100% Automated
Includes File Sharing
Free Sync Space
Cons
No phone support

Full Review

I really like mypcbackup. I found them on this site a few months back and so far are very happy with my selection. They have many features which the others do not have, as the competition just focus on drag and drop folders which isnt true backup.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is not the first backup program I've used but my gosh it's the best by a mile. It just does things that other programs don't, the auto-backup and mobile log-in make this system the easiest to use, and the most efficient as I can view everything from anywhere.
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
10.0

Great Product

Overall Rating: 9.6 out of 10
Reviewed by: Phil Jameson
Experience Level: Backup Expert
Customer for: one to three months
Reviewed on: December 05, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Unlimited Backup
Great Support
Auto-Backup
Easy to Use
Attractive program

Full Review

This is not the first backup program I've used but my gosh it's the best by a mile. It just does things that other programs don't, the auto-backup and mobile log-in make this system the easiest to use, and the most efficient as I can view everything from anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I would definitely recommend the service, especially if you have files you want to move between multiple computers.
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Security 
 
10.0

Just gets better

Overall Rating: 9.2 out of 10
Reviewed by: Lucy Camara
Experience Level: Backup Beginner
Customer for: one to three months
Reviewed on: November 29, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
I originally took My PC Backup because of the unlimited storage, but as time has gone on, their service has just kept giving me more. I never even thought about sync options and now i cant live without it. Support is quick and informative, and although my application stalled once, it was backup within the hour.
Cons
No Phone support, but neither do alot of other options i looked at. Awaiting Public File sharing, but the Private option available now is great!

Full Review

I would definitely recommend the service, especially if you have files you want to move between multiple computers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have used a couple of other backup systems before and have found this by far the easiest of them all to use.
Installation is automatic and value for money wise, i struggle to see how these guys are not dominating the market.
I would probably still be with Mozy if they still had their "unlimited" plan, but then again i would have never found this lot!
A+++ in my book, and would defo recommend.
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
8.0

Backup has never been so good

Overall Rating: 8.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: Phil Redmond
Experience Level: Backup Beginner
Customer for: a month or less
Reviewed on: August 17, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Ease of Use, Easy Installation, Value for money, The support is top notch, Sync folder capability, rom what i have found so far, the list is endless!
Cons
Having recently bought an iPhone, It would be nice if it had a dedicated app, although i have been assured this will be out soon.

Full Review

I have used a couple of other backup systems before and have found this by far the easiest of them all to use.
Installation is automatic and value for money wise, i struggle to see how these guys are not dominating the market.
I would probably still be with Mozy if they still had their "unlimited" plan, but then again i would have never found this lot!
A+++ in my book, and would defo recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Company Overview

Lowest Price
$5.95/Month
Storage Space
Unlimited
Free Trial
Yes - 14 Day
Free Plan
No
Single Computer Plans
Yes
Multi Computer Plans
Yes
Business Plans
Yes
Enterprise Plans
Yes
Year Established
2010
Price
$5.95/Month

Supported Operating Systems

Windows
Yes
Mac OSX
Yes
Linux
Yes
Windows Server
No
iPhone / iPad App
Yes
Android App
Yes
Windows Mobile App
No
Blackberry App
Yes

Backup Features

Max File Size
5GB
Scheduler
Yes
Versioning / Snapshot
Yes
Browse Files Online
Yes
Incremental Backup
Yes
Bandwidth Throttle
Yes
Idle Backup
Yes
Resumes After Interruption
Yes

Support Options

Email/Online Ticket Support
Yes
Phone Support
No
Live Chat
Yes
Blog
Yes
Knowledgebase
Yes
FAQs
Yes
Tutorials
Yes
Video Tutorials
Yes

Web/Mobile/Remote Access

Web Access
Yes
Mobile Phone Access
Yes
FTP Access
No
Can Set Permissions
Yes

File Restore Options

Restore from Software
Yes
Restore from Website
Yes
Restore to Hard Drive and Ship
Yes

Security

SSL Secure Transfer
Yes
Data Encryption
Yes
Geo-Redundant Storage
Yes
User Generated Encryption Key
No

Company Highlights:

MyPC Backup, developed by Just Develop It, is an online backup company that features Unlimited Backup and File Syncing capabilities all under one plan. As part of a larger online movement, MyPC Backup takes outdated online backup ideas to the sharpening stone; enhancing the industry.

View All MyPC Backup Prices & Plans

 

About MyPC Backup:

MyPCBackup has had a large presence in the UK and now has come to America. Offering unlimited Automatic backup with no file size limited or forced bandwidth throttling. MyPC Backup is part of a family of companies run by parent company, Just Develop It. They have been providing online solutions since 2007.

MyPC Backup Facts:

  • Founded in 2010 by Daniel Richards
  • Located in Novi, Michigan
  • They have 20 employees

MyPC Backup Features & Plans:

  • Unlimited Storage Plan - $4.95/Month

MyPC Backup Technical Features:

Automotive and Selective Backup, 24/7 Technical Support, Fully accessible mobile browser site, Sync Folder, Archive Folder, 256 Bit SSL Encryption, Mac/PC Access to files, Anytime Money Back guarantee.

MyPC Backup Support:

  • Phone Support: Yes
  • Email Support: Yes
  • Ticket System: Yes
  • Live Support Chat: Yes
  • FAQ & Knowledge base: Yes
  • Guides: Yes
  • Video Tutorials: Yes

Photos

View All MyPC Backup Prices & Plans
1.
9.2 / 10
 
2.
9.1 / 10
 
3.
9.0 / 10
 
4.
9.0 / 10
 
5.
8.6 / 10
 
6.
8.4 / 10
 
7.
8.4 / 10
 
8.
8.4 / 10
 
9.
8.1 / 10
 
10.
8.0 / 10
 

Top User Rated

1.
9.6 / 10
 
2.
9.3 / 10
 
3.
8.9 / 10
 
4.
6.6 / 10
 
5.
4.5 / 10
 

Our Best Sellers

These are the three top best sellers there will be some more text that goes across the top of the module it will have some links and other helpful resources that will give people what they are looking for. This one long paragraph is pretty far for the eye to travel.  Maybe it should be shorted on the wide desktop or maybe moved to 2 separate blocks. Just a thought.

#1 MyPCBackup

mypcbackup-200

MyPC Backup, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our MyPC Backup Review

Visit MyPC Backup

#2 ZipCloud

zipcloud-200

ZipCloud, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our ZipCloud Review

Visit ZipCloud

#3 iDrive

idrive-200

iDrive, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our iDrive Review

Visit iDrive

&nbsp
Online Backup Search Footer Image

About Online Backup Search

OnlineBackupSearch.com puts all Backup and Cloud Storage Services in one place so you can find the best company. We have assembled both expert and user reviews. In addition to online backup reviews we feature interviews and informative backup guides to help you work more efficiently and protect your data. Checkout our backup coupons if you want to save some money.

Our mission: To provide the most valuable information about Online Backup Companies through experience and information.

Did not find what you were looking for? Try Google, The Open Directory Project or