Online Backup Companies SugarSync Review

SugarSync Review http://onlinebackupsearch.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/8f/18/10/sugarsync-300x225-6-1360924751.png

Expert Rating:8.6

User Rating:9.3

$7.49/Month

GO

What We Like:

  • Easy to Use Syncing Software
  • Runs on Desktop, Laptop, & Mobile Devices
  • Allows Public Sharing of Files and Folders
  • Phone Support
  • SSL Data Encryption on Geo-Redundant Storage
Review by David Blane
Created: January 14, 2011 / Updated: May 23, 2013
 
Write Review

Editor review

Software Installation
Make your way over to SugarSync’s website to start the download. There are not any scary ‘buy now’ looking advertisements, and it is much friendlier. Take the tour to view their highlighted features. After that it will request you to sign up. They don’t make it easy to see, but you can download the free 5GB version by scrolling to the footer and find it under ‘Download’. After you get the software follow the instructions to start setting up SugarSync.

Overall this whole process was great. The experience was pleasant and kept me interested the whole time.

Configuring the backup
As part of the installation process they instruct you to select the files and folders you want to upload. It’s really easy to select the appropriate files. Once you do this a small icon will drop to the taskbar at the bottom of your screen (Windows. On top for mac.).

Make essential configurations with basic features. They have a bandwidth throttle, proxy setting,
and some other minimal settings. If you’re looking for a more dynamic configuration, then this may not be the backup company for you.

Backing up
This is pretty simple. You will see the icon in the taskbar. If you click on the icon you will see which file is currently being uploaded. In the file manager you will see the progress next to the files. At the bottom of the manager the status bar also shows how much of your space is still available.

Restore files
Restoring the files from SugarSync is simple. You will be able to restore to any device that is connected. You can restore in bulk from the manager or website. Simply drag and drop files and folders (Even view in Windows Explorer. Finder for Macs.). Select a file from your online account and a box appears letting you download the file.

Accessing for viewing
SugarSync is designed primarily as a file syncing and backup utility. They do a great job at this. Accessing your files from any devices is possible. They support a large variety of devices.

I used the iPhone app. It works great and has features built into it that allow for easy copying, emailing, saving pictures to the phone, etc.. Their website access portal is really stunning. Clean, easy to use and gives you a feeling of sturdiness.

Throttling
There’s no indicator about how much there their throttler makes a difference. Regardless the slider allows you to see if you select either Low, Medium or High. This refers to priority of the bandwidth being used by SugarSync to upload your files and folders.


File Versioning Easy or Hard?
It’s easy to see the versions of your files. However, it forces you to use their website as the backup of the versions.

Conclusion
These guys really know how to make the online backup system simple and robust. Everything is easy from start finish. However, if you’re a bigger company that requires advanced settings and has lots of changes to keep up with, SugarSync is a little too simplified. Try it regardless and let us know what you think!
Overall rating 
 
8.6
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Security 
 
9.0

One The Best Online Backup & Syncing Utilities

Reviewed by: David Blane
Experience Level: Backup Professional
Customer for: three months to one year
Reviewed on: December 20, 2011

Overview

SugarSync is what we call a Backup and Syncing utility. They store your files and keep the same version of that file available to all connected devices. They have been around since 2004 and are familiar with online backup. Their work can be described as easy and user friendly.
*Note this review has not been edited and is subject to change in the near future with updates.

Pros and Cons

Pros
Extremely easy to use
Robust file manager
Useful Accessibility
Cons
Too Simple
Bandwidth Is Not Measured Well

Full Review

Software Installation
Make your way over to SugarSync’s website to start the download. There are not any scary ‘buy now’ looking advertisements, and it is much friendlier. Take the tour to view their highlighted features. After that it will request you to sign up. They don’t make it easy to see, but you can download the free 5GB version by scrolling to the footer and find it under ‘Download’. After you get the software follow the instructions to start setting up SugarSync.

Overall this whole process was great. The experience was pleasant and kept me interested the whole time.

Configuring the backup
As part of the installation process they instruct you to select the files and folders you want to upload. It’s really easy to select the appropriate files. Once you do this a small icon will drop to the taskbar at the bottom of your screen (Windows. On top for mac.).

Make essential configurations with basic features. They have a bandwidth throttle, proxy setting,
and some other minimal settings. If you’re looking for a more dynamic configuration, then this may not be the backup company for you.

Backing up
This is pretty simple. You will see the icon in the taskbar. If you click on the icon you will see which file is currently being uploaded. In the file manager you will see the progress next to the files. At the bottom of the manager the status bar also shows how much of your space is still available.

Restore files
Restoring the files from SugarSync is simple. You will be able to restore to any device that is connected. You can restore in bulk from the manager or website. Simply drag and drop files and folders (Even view in Windows Explorer. Finder for Macs.). Select a file from your online account and a box appears letting you download the file.

Accessing for viewing
SugarSync is designed primarily as a file syncing and backup utility. They do a great job at this. Accessing your files from any devices is possible. They support a large variety of devices.

I used the iPhone app. It works great and has features built into it that allow for easy copying, emailing, saving pictures to the phone, etc.. Their website access portal is really stunning. Clean, easy to use and gives you a feeling of sturdiness.

Throttling
There’s no indicator about how much there their throttler makes a difference. Regardless the slider allows you to see if you select either Low, Medium or High. This refers to priority of the bandwidth being used by SugarSync to upload your files and folders.


File Versioning Easy or Hard?
It’s easy to see the versions of your files. However, it forces you to use their website as the backup of the versions.

Conclusion
These guys really know how to make the online backup system simple and robust. Everything is easy from start finish. However, if you’re a bigger company that requires advanced settings and has lots of changes to keep up with, SugarSync is a little too simplified. Try it regardless and let us know what you think!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Learn More at SugarSync

User reviews

Average user rating from: 5 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.3
Ease of Use 
 
9.2  (5)
Features 
 
9.4  (5)
Space / Price 
 
9.4  (5)
Customer Support 
 
9.2  (5)
Security 
 
9.2  (5)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Ease of Use
    How easy was the software to configure and run your first backup?
  • Features
    How many helpful tools are available?
  • Space / Price
    How much space do you get for your money?
  • Customer Support
    How helpful and accessible is customer support?
  • Security
    How secure do you feel your data is?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
Good review – here are a few recent changes as of June 2011:
You get 5GB of space with the FREE version, but now there is no restriction to the number of computers you can sync/backup (up from 2).
It gives you the ability to upload and sync any folder on your computer.
It is the only service that offers such a broad device and OS support with apps for BlackBerry, Android, iPhone/iPad, Symbian, not to mention your computer!
Hope it helps someone.
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
9.0
Space / Price 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Security 
 
9.0

Best multi-platform file sync

Overall Rating: 8.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: w0qj
Experience Level: Backup Expert
Customer for: a month or less
Reviewed on: June 14, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Best multi-platform file sync

Full Review

Good review – here are a few recent changes as of June 2011:
You get 5GB of space with the FREE version, but now there is no restriction to the number of computers you can sync/backup (up from 2).
It gives you the ability to upload and sync any folder on your computer.
It is the only service that offers such a broad device and OS support with apps for BlackBerry, Android, iPhone/iPad, Symbian, not to mention your computer!
Hope it helps someone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have been using it for over a year and it is the best of any such service, simply because the desktop app is fully integrated with you OS file management system and it is quick
Overall rating 
 
9.2
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
10.0
Space / Price 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
9.0

good

Overall Rating: 9.2 out of 10
Reviewed by: jấon
Reviewed on: November 23, 2011

Full Review

I have been using it for over a year and it is the best of any such service, simply because the desktop app is fully integrated with you OS file management system and it is quick

Was this review helpful to you? 
SugarSync aims to be your complete solution to cloud storage, providing cloud backup, "choose whatever folders you want to" sync, and integration with third party services like Facebook. Folders can be synced to mobile devices, although depending on the platform, e.g. iOS, it might not make any sense since you can't edit anything on the device.
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
10.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Security 
 
9.0

Cloud Storage Freedom

Overall Rating: 9.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: John
Experience Level: Backup Expert
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: October 04, 2011

Full Review

SugarSync aims to be your complete solution to cloud storage, providing cloud backup, "choose whatever folders you want to" sync, and integration with third party services like Facebook. Folders can be synced to mobile devices, although depending on the platform, e.g. iOS, it might not make any sense since you can't edit anything on the device.

Was this review helpful to you? 
If you have a real fast connection then this may still be for you, but on my home connection it was just not fast enough.
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Ease of Use 
 
9.0
Features 
 
8.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Security 
 
10.0

Tried it

Overall Rating: 9.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: Brian
Experience Level: Backup Expert
Customer for: a month or less
Reviewed on: July 06, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
You can certainly not say anything against the price, it is cheap online backup and you can select any folder you want on your computers to back up.
Cons
I tried them all and I mean them all, I cancelled sugarsync within the trial only because it was too slow to upload, compared to Dropbox which is lightning fast, Sugarsync was a snail, and with the selection out there, that was enough to make me move on.

Full Review

If you have a real fast connection then this may still be for you, but on my home connection it was just not fast enough.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I set up SugarSync last night and was very impressed with how easy it was to set up and use.

I had some images at home that I needed to access at work and kept forgetting to put them on a flash drive. I did a little research and SugarSync seemed to be the best solution for the job. And I was right!

I was up and going in 15 minutes or so.

The service can be a little confusing b/c it is so configurable. With a little bit of time I am sure I will get it all figured out.

I am really glad I went with Sugarsync, currently I have the free account and I am pretty sure I will be upgrading to one of the paid accounts
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Ease of Use 
 
10.0
Features 
 
10.0
Space / Price 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
9.0
Security 
 
9.0

Very Impressed with Sugarsync

Overall Rating: 9.6 out of 10
Reviewed by: James
Experience Level: Backup Beginner
Customer for: a month or less
Reviewed on: May 24, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Very easy to set up
was syncing my desktop and iPhone in a half hour
Cons
sometimes the website interface was a bit confusing

Full Review

I set up SugarSync last night and was very impressed with how easy it was to set up and use.

I had some images at home that I needed to access at work and kept forgetting to put them on a flash drive. I did a little research and SugarSync seemed to be the best solution for the job. And I was right!

I was up and going in 15 minutes or so.

The service can be a little confusing b/c it is so configurable. With a little bit of time I am sure I will get it all figured out.

I am really glad I went with Sugarsync, currently I have the free account and I am pretty sure I will be upgrading to one of the paid accounts

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

Company Overview

Lowest Price
$7.49/Month
Storage Space
60GB
Free Trial
Yes - 30 Day
Free Plan
5GB
Single Computer Plans
Yes
Multi Computer Plans
Yes
Business Plans
Yes
Enterprise Plans
No
Year Established
2004
Price
$7.49/Month

Supported Operating Systems

Windows
Yes
Mac OSX
Yes
Linux
Yes
Windows Server
No
iPhone / iPad App
Yes
Android App
Yes
Windows Mobile App
Yes
Blackberry App
Yes

Backup Features

Max File Size
Unlimited
Scheduler
No
Versioning / Snapshot
Yes
Browse Files Online
Yes
Incremental Backup
Yes
Bandwidth Throttle
Yes
Idle Backup
No
Resumes After Interruption
Yes

Support Options

Email/Online Ticket Support
Yes
Phone Support
Yes
Live Chat
Yes
Blog
Yes
Knowledgebase
Yes
FAQs
Yes
Tutorials
Yes
Video Tutorials
No

Web/Mobile/Remote Access

Web Access
Yes
Mobile Phone Access
Yes
FTP Access
No
Can Set Permissions
Yes

File Restore Options

Restore from Software
Yes
Restore from Website
Yes
Restore to Hard Drive and Ship
No

Security

SSL Secure Transfer
Yes
Data Encryption
Yes
Geo-Redundant Storage
Yes
User Generated Encryption Key
Yes

Company Highlights:

Share, Sync and Backup your files with multiple devices and people. SugarSync is a backup and syncing utility designed for personal and small business users. Stay connected by sharing files and folders and receiving updated copies of files automatically to all SugarSync devices.

View All SugarSync Prices & Plans

 

About SugarSync:

Sugarsync brings cloud computing, sharing and backing up together. Sugarsync has grown a lot in 2009 and is a great new start up company to get involved with. They have raised between 20 million and 50 million dollars and are looking for dramatic growth in the coming years. They are a private company with a strong dedicated team.

SugarSync Facts:

  • Located in San Mateo, CA
  • Founded by Gibu Thomas and Ben Strong in 2004, is now run by management team headed by CEO, Laura Yecies
  • 40+ Employees
  • Growing fast with lots of interest from investors
  • Plans for everyone

SugarSync Features & Plans:

  • Personal Plans Start at $7.49/month ($74.99/year) for 60 GBs and 1 user
  • Business Plans Start at $55/month ($550/year) for 1 TBs and 3 users
    • Add a user - $9.99/month
    • Add storage $29.99 per 100 GB/month

Features: Online Backup, Remote Access, Sharing, Data Security and Much More...

SugarSync Technical Features:

Back up any folder on your computer, Real-time changes, Versioning, Sync across multiple users with options, access through the web (simple document editing), Share files/folders/publish to Facebook photos, Auto create sharable photo albums, Stream music to Internet enabled device (iPhone, BlackBerry, Android, Computer).

SugarSync works with: iPhone, iPad, BlackBerry, Windows Mobile, Android, Symbian, Mobile Website.

SugarSync supports: Windows XP, Vista and 7 - Mac OSX - Platform and mobile API

International integration: Yes

SugarSync Support:

  • 24/7 Support: Yes
  • Phone Support: Yes (Subscription Based, 6AM to 5PM Monday - Friday PST)
  • Email Support: Yes
  • Ticket System: Yes
  • Live Support Chat: Yes
  • Support Forums: Yes
  • FAQ & Knowledge base: Yes
  • Video Tutorials: Yes
  • Company Blog: Yes

Photos

View All SugarSync Prices & Plans
1.
9.2 / 10
 
2.
9.1 / 10
 
3.
9.0 / 10
 
4.
9.0 / 10
 
5.
8.6 / 10
 
6.
8.4 / 10
 
7.
8.4 / 10
 
8.
8.4 / 10
 
9.
8.1 / 10
 
10.
8.0 / 10
 

Top User Rated

1.
9.6 / 10
 
2.
9.3 / 10
 
3.
8.9 / 10
 
4.
6.6 / 10
 
5.
4.5 / 10
 

Our Best Sellers

These are the three top best sellers there will be some more text that goes across the top of the module it will have some links and other helpful resources that will give people what they are looking for. This one long paragraph is pretty far for the eye to travel.  Maybe it should be shorted on the wide desktop or maybe moved to 2 separate blocks. Just a thought.

#1 MyPCBackup

mypcbackup-200

MyPC Backup, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our MyPC Backup Review

Visit MyPC Backup

#2 ZipCloud

zipcloud-200

ZipCloud, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our ZipCloud Review

Visit ZipCloud

#3 iDrive

idrive-200

iDrive, founded in 2010 offer unlimited backup with all the best feature for backing up a up all of your files.

Read Our iDrive Review

Visit iDrive

&nbsp
Online Backup Search Footer Image

About Online Backup Search

OnlineBackupSearch.com puts all Backup and Cloud Storage Services in one place so you can find the best company. We have assembled both expert and user reviews. In addition to online backup reviews we feature interviews and informative backup guides to help you work more efficiently and protect your data. Checkout our backup coupons if you want to save some money.

Our mission: To provide the most valuable information about Online Backup Companies through experience and information.

Did not find what you were looking for? Try Google, The Open Directory Project or